By Chinwe Imo-Eze Onwosi

The All Progressives Congress, APC, has elected two candidates in parallel primaries to fly the flag for Ebonyi governorship in 2023 general election .

The candidates, Engr Elias Mbam, immediate past Chairman of Revenue Mobilisation Allocation and Fiscal Commission,and Francis Ogbonna Nwifuru, Speaker, Ebonyi State House of Assembly emerged winners in the elections held Thursday, in Abakaliki.

The Voice gathered that the Mbam faction primaries which held in the state capital elected the ex-RAMFC boss Mbam who polled 741 votes to defeat Mr Francis Nwifuru, Sen. Julius Ucha and Mrs Rosemary Ofoke.

The Returning Officer (RO) of the Mbam faction, Egwu Inya Akanu-Oti, who announced the results, said that the election was peaceful, credible, free and fair, adding that a total of 22 invalid votes were recorded.

He added that the process met all the required guidelines prescribed by the party’s constitution, the Electoral Act and the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

“With these results, I hereby declare Chief Elias Mbam, who polled 741 ballots, winner of the election and is hereby returned as the APC gubernatorial candidate in the 2023 governorship election in Ebonyi,” Inya said.

Mbam, in his post-election speech, thanked the delegates for the peaceful election and for finding him worthy to bear the party’s governorship flag in the 2023 general election.

The former RMAFC chairman promised to lead the party to victory in the forthcoming general elections.

Meanwhile, the governor of Ebonyi state, David Umahi ‘s faction of the All Progressives Congress equally announced Francis Ogbonna Nwifuru as the winner of the primaries through Prof. Adebayo Emmanuel led committee.

According to Adebayo, Nwifuru  polled 743 votes to win the gubernatorial primary election for Ebonyi State flooring Julius Ali Julius who scored 22 votes, Elia Mbam – 10 votes, Edward Nkwegu – 8 votes, Mrs Rosemary Ofoke – 63 votes and invalid votes – 8 votes.

The primaries which was held at the Pa Ngele Oruta Township Stadium Abakaliki, was said to have five delegates in each of the 171 wards of the state in attendance.

Previous articleNOTSUP, Unwana Chapter Inaugurates Bye-law drafting C’mttee
Next article‘We need a Selfless leader to rescue the country’ – SDP Presidential Aspirant


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here