Ebonyi Assembly Declares 3 PDP Lawmakers Seats Vacant over resignation

Honourable Speaker of Ebonyi State House of Assembly, Rt. Hon. Francis Ogbonna Nwifuru, Tuesday said three (3) Members of the State Assembly, sent in letters notifying the House of their resignation as Honourable members of Ebonyi State House of Assembly.

This led the legislative body in the state to declare their seats vacant during plenary attended by 15 All Progressives Congress (APC) lawmakers of the House. 

The PDP Lawmakers who were absent during the sitting, were as follows: Franca C. Okpo (Abakaliki South ), Ali Kizito Okechukwu (Ishielu North ) and Victor U. Aleke (Ebonyi North-West).

Reading the letters at the floor of the House during Plenary Tuesday, March 15, 2022, Speaker Nwifuru revealed through the letters, that the three (3) Members resigned their seats after due consultations with their families, stakeholders and political associates. According to their letters which were all dated November 15, 2021, their resignations will avail them ample time to pursue other endeavours in their lives.

Following the developments, the House accepted the letters as working documents and declared the seats of Abakaliki South, Ishielu North and Ebonyi North-West State Constituencies, vacant. The Honourable Speaker directed the clerk of the House to notify Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) of the development, for further actions as specified by law.

Having done justice to all there were in the order paper for the day, the House proceeded on a 3 months recess.

Previous article Elders Council Express Worry over unfolding political events in Ebonyi, Calls for calm
Next articleEbonyi APC Lambast PDP,  Says ‘it is foolishness to Demand Certificate Of Return from INEC’


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here