‘Resign now or be recalled,’ APGA threatens six lawmakers over defection to APC

All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) in Anambra State has called on the six state lawmakers who dumped the party to join the All Progressives Congress (APC) to resign now or be recalled.

Recall that six legislators elected on the platform of APGA recently defected from the party to the APC.

Secretary of APGA in the State, Tony Ifeanya, a lawyer, who made the threat in an interview with Journalists in Awka, asked the legislators to vacate their seats, immediately.

He urged the Lawmakers to hand over all the party’s belongings under their possession to the leadership of the party in the State.

Ifeanya said they would soon start the process of recalling the decampee lawmakers if they refused to vacate their seats, having joined the APC.

He boasted that the lawmakers would not be missed by the party, adding that their defection did not come to the party as a surprise.

After defection, the six members of the Anambra State House of Assembly who joined the APC were welcomed alongside the governorship candidate of the APC in Anambra, Andy Uba after they travelled to Abuja

Speaking at Ekwulobia in Aguata Local Government Area of Anambra State, the lawmakers who took turns to speak said their former party, APGA was dying, and there was the need to leave for a better place.

Some of the lawmakers also said they joined the party to work with its candidate, Andy Uba to connect Anambra to the centre, to ensure the dividends of democracy.

“We are in APC because of Andy Uba. He is a man of impeccable character. We decided to follow the man who knows the way, who will connect us to power at the centre, and to benefit from what they intend to give to Anambra,” said one of the lawmakers, Ezeudu Lawrence, member representing Dunukofia state constituency.

The six members who defected to the APC include: Hon. Nonso Okafor representing Nnewi North, Hon. Timothy Ifedioramma representing Njikoka 1, Hon. Carter D. N Umeoduagu representing Aguata 1, Hon. Lawrence Ezeudu representing Dunukofia, Hon. Arthur Chiekwu representing Idemili North and Hon. Edward Ibuzo, representing Onisha North 2.

Previous articleEbonyi Police parades Ex-Air force personnel, 35 for alleged murder, other crimes
Next articleGov Umahi Approves Road Extension, Constructions in Ikwo


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here